International Organizations

The NRC participates in several international nuclear organizations, including:

The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), headquartered in Vienna, Austria, facilitates cooperation in the nuclear field that seeks to promote the safe, secure, and peaceful use of nuclear technologies and nuclear materials. It was established in 1957 as the world's "Atoms for Peace" organization within the United Nations family. The IAEA's mission is guided by the interests and needs of its Member States and the vision embodied in the IAEA Statute. The IAEA programs of work and budget are set through decisions of its policymaking bodies: the 35 member Board of Governors and the General Conference of all Member States. There are five technical departments within the IAEA focusing on various aspects of nuclear cooperation and its verification mandate: safety and security, safeguards, nuclear energy, nuclear sciences and applications, and technical cooperation. NRC staff routinely support IAEA activities as technical experts to help advance the shared goals of the U.S. Government and the IAEA.

The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), established in 1958 as part of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), is an intergovernmental agency that facilitates cooperation among countries with advanced nuclear technology infrastructures to seek excellence in nuclear safety, technology, science, environment and law. The NEA headquarters are in Paris, France. As of July 2020, the NEA's membership consists of 33 countries accounting for approximately 82 percent of the world's installed nuclear electricity generating capacity. The NRC participates in the NEA through representation on various standing technical committees, working groups, and focused initiatives. The NEA's support of detailed engineering and technological studies complements and expands the NRC's research program in a cost-effective way.

The International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA) was established in 1997 and comprises the most senior officials of the nuclear regulatory authorities from its nine member countries: Canada, France, Germany, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom, and the United States. INRA's main purpose is to exchange regulatory policy perspectives at a high level to enhance nuclear safety and security among its members and worldwide.