FINAL: 7/21/16

SCHEDULING NOTE

Title: MEETING WITH NRC STAKEHOLDERS (Public Meeting)

Purpose: Stakeholders will be invited to share their perspective on the NRC's

regulatory programs, provide examples to illustrate their particular concerns, and offer recommendations and solutions in a roundtable discussion. The Commission is open to hearing about any topic raised by presenters. However, the following topics are offered to provide a general sense of the areas of Commission focus.

• Licensing efficiency and effectiveness;

- Application of the backfit rule and processes for resolving backfitting concerns:
- Risk-informed regulatory approaches/risk-informed decision making;
- Disposition of inspection findings;
- Effectiveness of enforcement activities:
- Prioritization of regulatory activities;
- Resolution of stakeholder comments in rulemaking and regulatory analyses;
- Project Aim initiatives;
- Effectiveness of public engagement and conduct of public meetings; and
- Effectiveness of current regulatory framework on advanced technology development and innovation of current technology.

Scheduled: July 26, 2016

9:00 am

Duration: Approx. 7 hours, with a 1.5 hour break for lunch

Location: NRC Auditorium

Chairman and Commissioners to provide opening remarks 5 mins.

Participants: Presentations:

Maria Korsnick, Chief Operating Officer, NEI 7 mins.

Shelley Buck, Tribal Council President, Prairie Island Indian Community **7 mins.**

David Lochbaum, Director, Nuclear Safety Project, Union of Concerned7 mins.

Dennis Koehl, Chief Executive Officer, STPNOC

7 mins.

Dr. Ashley Finan , Senior Project Manager for Energy Innovation, Clean Air Task Force	7 mins.
Discussion*	30 mins.
Break	10 mins.
Dr. Allison M. Macfarlane , George Washington University, Professor of Public Policy and International Affairs; Director, Center for International Science and Technology Policy; Director, International Science and Technology Policy M.A. Program	7 mins.
Jackson Brossy, Executive Director, Navajo Nation Washington Office	7 mins.
Philip D. Moeller, Senior Vice President, Edison Electric Institute	7 mins.
Janet Schlueter, Senior Director Radiation and Materials Safety, NEI	7 mins.
Gary Mignogna, President and Chief Executive Officer, AREVA	7 mins.
Katie Sweeney, Senior Vice President, Legal Affairs, and General Counsel, National Mining Association	7 mins.
Discussion*	30 mins.
Discussion* Lunch	30 mins. 90 mins.
Lunch	90 mins.
Lunch Dale Atkinson, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer, NuScale	90 mins. 7 mins.
Lunch Dale Atkinson, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer, NuScale Paul Gunter, Director, Reactor Oversight Project, Beyond Nuclear	90 mins. 7 mins. 7 mins.
Lunch Dale Atkinson, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer, NuScale Paul Gunter, Director, Reactor Oversight Project, Beyond Nuclear Peter Gaillard, Manager Licensing Operations, TerraPower LLC	90 mins.7 mins.7 mins.7 mins.
Lunch Dale Atkinson, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer, NuScale Paul Gunter, Director, Reactor Oversight Project, Beyond Nuclear Peter Gaillard, Manager Licensing Operations, TerraPower LLC Jeffrey Merrifield, Partner, Pillsbury Law	90 mins.7 mins.7 mins.7 mins.7 mins.
 Lunch Dale Atkinson, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nuclear Officer, NuScale Paul Gunter, Director, Reactor Oversight Project, Beyond Nuclear Peter Gaillard, Manager Licensing Operations, TerraPower LLC Jeffrey Merrifield, Partner, Pillsbury Law Bryan Hanson, Chief Nuclear Officer, Exelon Dr. Yassin Hassan, Nuclear Engineering Department Heads Organization, and Head, Department of Nuclear Engineering, 	90 mins. 7 mins. 7 mins. 7 mins. 7 mins. 7 mins.

Fred Fahey, MD, SNMMI Past President and Medical Rep to CRCPD, Director of Nuclear Medicine/PET Physics, Boston Children's Hospital, Professor of Radiology, Harvard Medical School

7 mins.

Anna Jerry, International Representative, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW)

7 mins.

David Heacock, President and Chief Nuclear Officer, Dominion Nuclear

7 mins.

Jim Riccio, Nuclear Policy Analyst, Greenpeace

7 mins.

Wayne Norton, President and CEO of Connecticut Yankee Atomic Power Co. and Yankee Rowe Nuclear Power Station; Chief Nuclear Officer of Maine Yankee; and Principal Spokesperson for Decommissioning Plant Coalition 7 mins.

Discussion* 30 mins.

Closing remarks 5 mins.

Also at the table but not presenting: Chairman and Commissioners SECY

In the room and introduced but not at the table: OGC, EDO, DEDOs, CFO, NRR, NMSS, NRO, and NSIR.

*No specific Commission Q&A period – clarifying questions and/or an opportunity to discuss a recommendation or proposed solution. Stakeholders are invited to initiate/participate in this discussion period.

Documents:

Slides distributed: 7/20/16