November 21, 2011

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Biden:

I enclose the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) *Fiscal Year 2011 Performance and Accountability Report*. This report was prepared in accordance with the Reports Consolidation Act of 2000 and the Government Performance and Results Act Modernization Act of 2010.

I have assessed the completeness and reliability of the program and financial data contained in the NRC's *Fiscal Year 2011 Performance and Accountability Report*. Based on evaluation criteria issued by the Office of Management and Budget, I conclude that the data are complete and reliable.

The NRC places a high priority on sound management and public accountability. The Commission looks forward to continuing to work with you to deliver the best possible results for the Government and the American people.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Gregory B. Jaczko

Enclosure: As Stated Identical letter sent to:

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Daniel K. Inouye President Pro Tempore United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable John A. Boehner Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Ed Whitfield Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Power Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable John Shimkus Chairman, Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Gene Green

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman, Subcommittee on Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator John Barrasso

The Honorable Rodney Frelinghuysen Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky The Honorable Dianne Feinstein Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Representative Lamar Alexander

The Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Susan M. Collins

The Honorable Jeff Bingaman Chairman, Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Lisa Murkowski

The Honorable Barbara Boxer Chairman, Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman, Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry A.Waxman

The Honorable Darrell Issa Chairman, Committee on Oversight and Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Elijah E. Cummings The Honorable Andrew P. Harris Chairman, Subcommittee on Energy and Environment Committee on Science and Technology United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Ralph Bradley Miller

The Honorable Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Howard L. Berman

The Honorable John F. Kerry Chairman, Committee on Foreign Relations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Richard G. Lugar

The Honorable Peter T. King Chairman, Committee on Homeland Security United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Bennie G. Thompson

The Honorable Gene L. Dodaro Comptroller General of the United States United States Government Accountability Office 441 G Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20548