Power Reactors

The NRC regulates commercial nuclear power plants that generate electricity. There are several types of these power reactors. Of these, only the Pressurized Water Reactors (PWRs) and Boiling Water Reactors (BWRs) are in commercial operation in the United States. Select a type from the list below to view a description and diagram of each.

There are currently 94 licensed to operate nuclear power plants in the United States (63 PWRs and 31 BWRs), which generate about 20% of our nation's electrical use. For more information about operating reactors, see the location map, list of power reactors, and NRC Project Managers.

As part of operational experience monitoring, the agency will periodically encounter certain reactor systems or management areas that could be improved. For additional information on areas related to safety that the agency is working to improve and upgrade, see Reactor Safety Focus Areas.