The Commission

The NRC is headed by five Commissioners appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate for five-year terms. One of them is designated by the President to be the Chairman and official spokesperson of the Commission.

Former NRC Commissioners


The Chairman is the principal executive officer of and the official spokesman for the NRC. As principal executive officer, the Chairman is responsible for conducting the administrative, organizational, long-range planning, budgetary, and certain personnel functions of the agency. The Chairman has ultimate authority for all NRC functions pertaining to an emergency involving an NRC license. The Chairman's actions are governed by the general policies of the Commission.

The Commission as a collegial body formulates policies, develops regulations governing nuclear reactor and nuclear material safety, issues orders to licensees, and adjudicates legal matters.


Commission Business Federal Intergovernmental Matters
Annette L. Vietti-Cook
Secretary of the Commission
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Mail Stop O-16 B33
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Darrell Adams
Congressional/External Affairs Officer
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Mail Stop O-16 C12
Washington, DC 20555-0001

(301) 415-1969
(301) 415-1776

Page Last Reviewed/Updated Monday, January 25, 2021